Thursday, August 13, 2015

Dove Award Nominees 2015

The 2015 Dove Award nominations were announced yesterday in Nashville. Congratulations to all those nominated!!

I think there were a few surprises. And I meant to check this but it seems some categories are a little different than in years past. I was surprised that no strictly "Southern Gospel" album was nominated in the country album category.

It seemed that this year in way more than years past, artists were posting about possible nominations during voting. I wonder if that really played any part.

Here's a look at nominations of Southern Gospel artists. What are your thoughts?

Southern Gospel Artist of the Year
  • Booth Brothers
  • Collingsworth Family
  • Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
  • Gaither Vocal Band
  • The Isaacs
Inspirational Song of the Year
  • "Ghost Town (Freedom)" - David Phelps
Southern Gospel Song of the Year
  • “Happy People” – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey 
  • “Sometimes It Takes a Mountain” – Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Mark Mathes, Gloria Gaither 
  • “What A Happy Time” – Goodman Revival, (arrangers) Michael Sykes, Johnny Minick 
  • “Pray Now” – Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Karen Peck Gooch, Dave Clark and Michael Farren 
  • “Hidden Heroes” – The Talleys, (writers) Dixie Lynn Phillips and Sharon Phillips
Bluegrass Song of the Year
  • “Stacking Up Rocks” – Balsam Range, (writer) Buddy Melton 
  • “Mighty To Save” – Chigger Hill Boys & Terri (writers) Ben Fielding, Reuben Morgan 
  • “He Made The Tree” – Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, (writers) Tom Botkin and Donnie Skaggs 
  • “God Is There” – Lizzy Long & Rhonda Vincent, (writers) Wayne Haun and Joel Lindsey
  • “Daddy Was An Old Time Preacher Man (ft. Rhonda Vincent) – Volume Five, (writers) Dolly Parton and Dorothy Jo Owens
Country Song of the Year
  • “I Saw The Light” – Alabama (writer) Hank Williams, Sr. 
  •  “I’ll Be There With You” – Doug Anderson (writers) Shelby Haun, Wayne Haun and Joel Lindsey 
  • “Ain’t It Just Like The Lord” – Gordan Mote, (writers) Lee Black, Jason Cox, Kenna Turner West 
  • “I Wanna Be There” – The Isaacs, (writers) Jimmy Yeary, Sonya Isaacs and Rebecca Isaacs Bowman 
  • “Sweet Jesus (ft. Merle Haggard)” – The Oak Ridge Boys (writers) Merle Haggard, Kenny Vernon
Worship Song of the Year
  • “Because He Lives (Amen)” – Matt Maher, (writers) Chris Tomlin, Daniel Carson, Ed Cash, Gloria Gaither, Jason Ingram, Matt Maher, Bill Gaither (publishers) Alletrop Music/Hanna Street Music/I Am A Pilgrim Songs/Open Hands Music/S. D. G. Publishing/sixsteps Music/Sixsteps Songs/Worship Together Music/

Producer of the Year
  • Ed Cash 
  • Wayne Haun 
Inspirational Album of the Year
  • A Cappella – The Martins, (producers) Michael English, Lari Goss, The Martins, David Phelps, Matthew Holt
Southern Gospel Album of the Year
  • Sometimes It Takes a Mountain – Gaither Vocal Band, (producers) Bill Gaither, Ben Isaacs, David Phelps 
  • Songs in the Key of Happy – Goodman Revival, (producers) Michael Sykes, Johnny Minick 
  • Threads of Mercy – Ivan Parker, (producer) Roger Talley 
  • Pray Now – Karen Peck & New River, (producer) Wayne Haun 
  • Living in Harmony – Triumphant, (producer) Wayne Haun
Bluegrass/ Country Album of the Year
  • Rock of Ages, Hymns and Gospel Favorites – The Oak Ridge Boys, (producers) Ben Isaacs, Duane Allen
Children's Music Album of the Year
  • Kids – The Hoppers, (producer) Mike Hopper
Christmas Album of the Year
  • Christmas – Guy Penrod, (producer) Michael Omartian
Musical of the Year
  • The Cross Changes Everything, (creators) Jeff Bumgardner, Joel Lindsey 
  • If The Grave Could Shout, (creator) Jason Cox 
  • Once You’ve Seen The Star, (creator) Belinda Smith 
  • We’re Glad You Came (A Musical Celebration of the Savior’s Birth), (creators) Jeff Bumgardner, Joel Lindsey

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting the site and for commenting!