Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Miles Pike - Timeless Truth - CD Review

I'll confess, I had not heard of Miles Pike until recently. However, after listening to his latest project, I hope that I hear much more from him in the future.

Timeless Truth is exactly the type of album you would expect it to be from its title. It's a project full of hymns and songs that you have heard many times before and are sure to hear again. I like that Miles, in fitting with the title's project, stays true to the known versions of the songs. When you have timeless, classic hymns, it's best not to stray far from what people know and love.

The project is full of 13 songs. And most of the songs are well over three minutes. It's a lot of music -- good music -- in one CD. It contains a lot of songs you might guess, "I Sing the Mighty Power of God," "Revive Us Again," "Crown Him With Many Crowns" and "How Firm a Foundation." However, there are some you might not expect as well like "Creed" and "How Deep the Father's Love for Us." I like that it's a good mix, but all with timeless lyrics.

This is not your simple hymns project. The orchestration and background vocals on some of the songs is extremely impressive. Some of the tracks did sound like ones other artists have used though.

One thing that really impressed me about hearing Miles for really the first time on this album was his range. On some songs, he comes across as a strong tenor while others it seems that he is more of a bass. Incredible range!

I love the way the project starts with "Revive Us Again." The beginning of this song will take you back in time with almost a medieval monk sound, but then changes to that familiar camp meeting feel of the song. I really liked his version of this song.

Other songs I found myself hitting repeat on were "The Power of the Cross," "High and Lifted Up" and "How Firm a Foundation."

If you are like me and had not heard of Miles before, be sure to give this a listen. For fans of hymns and traditional music, you will definitely want to add Timeless Truth to your collection!

Song List - 

1. "Revive Us Again"
2. "Creed"
3. "How Deep the Father's Love for Us"
4. "The Church's One Foundation"
5. "Praise to the Lord, the Almighty"
6. "Let Us Love and Sing and Wonder"
7. "I Sing the Mighty Power of God"
8. "Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee"
9. "How Firm a Foundation"
10. "O Holy Night"
11. "The Power of the Cross"
12. "Crown Him with Many Crowns"
13. "High and Lifted Up Hallelujah Chorus"


  1. great to hear from you again! keep up the good work.we enjoy hearing from you. we are praying Gods blessings upon you where ever you go.and oh yes i need a black shirt in ex large and a 3 x if you have it.if not a 2x will do it had :His Blood has made us one.and i cor.12:12-26.i accidently cloroxed ours.LOL. love and prayers bro.and sis.stigall

  2. Dear Anonymous,

    This is Miles and I just happened to stumble upon your comment and saw your mention of a shirt. You will need to visit www.MilesPikeMusic.com to place your order so we will know how to contact you.


Thanks for visiting the site and for commenting!