Monday, October 17, 2016

Here For You - Tribute Quartet - CD Review

I'm not going to be surprised to find Here For You in many lists of the top album of 2016. I feel like this is the best album the group has ever produced. It was no wonder that the group featured so many of these songs at NQC a few weeks ago. They have a right to be proud of every song on this project.

Tribute Quartet has had the same lineup since 2011 with tenor Riley Harrison Clark, lead Gary Casto, baritone and piano player Josh Singletary and bass Anthony Davis. Not only has their lineup been steady for the past several years, they still have two of the founding members with Gary and Josh.

The album opens with the title song "Here For You." The song has a long intro and build up. It's a bit more progressive. It has a unique, fun sound to start off the album. We continue with the uptempo songs with "Never Forsaken."

Josh and Anthony share the verses on "Somebody Sing Me That Song." This song has more of a crooner feel to offer a little something different style wise.

Riley has a couple of really great ballads on the project, "When the Prodigal Comes Home" and "Nothing Stops the Savior's Love." The latter is my favorite. What a great reminder that His love can always reach us wherever we are and how undeserving we are of that love! I got to hear this song for the first time in Branson at Silver Dollar City, and I was so impressed and couldn't wait to hear the rest of the album after that tease! Riley also is featured on "God of the Storms." This song is more mid-tempo with a little background banjo for a different sound.

Gary is featured on "Meeting in the Middle of the Air." It's a fun song with a lot of words in the chorus. I can see this going over really well live. However, my favorite of Gary's features is "Grace at Its Best." He and Riley split the verses. Gary also wrote this song with Barbara Huffman. It's a beautiful reminder of the cross, "grace at its best is still the cross."

"Everybody Come See Jesus" shows off a little more banjo along with harmonica. Josh does a great job on this Dianne Wilkinson song.

One song I was really glad to see them sing at NQC was "That's How I Know." It's a story song that will have you snapping along. It's a great feature for Anthony!

The only song that has been previously released is "Jesus Saves." The song was recorded by the Hoppers but they put their own Tribute spin on it.

It's rare in a CD review when I mention every song on the project. This review is an exception, because all the songs are so strong. When you look at the writing credits on this project, it's a "who's who" of writers from Dianne Wilkinson to Wayne Haun to Sonya and Becky Isaacs to Sue Smith.

This is the strongest release to date by this quartet. This is one album you do not want to miss this year!

Song List -
1. "Here For You"
2. "Never Forsaken"
3. "Somebody Sing Me That Song"
4. "When the Prodigal Comes Home"
5. "Meeting in the Middle of the Air"
6. "God of the Storms"
7. "Everybody Come See Jesus"
8. "That's How I Know"
9. "Grace at Its Best"
10. "Jesus Saves"
11. "Nothing Stops the Savior's Love"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting the site and for commenting!