Wednesday, April 13, 2016

2016 Absolutely Gospel Music Award Winners

The 2016 Absolutely Gospel Music Awards were held on Tuesday night. This is one of the only years they have offered live streaming that I wasn't able to tune in. I'm hoping it will be made available later to watch!

Karen Peck & New River was one of the big winners of the night taking home both the Song and Album of the Year awards. The Jim Brady Trio was also a big winner with the Breakthrough Artist, Traditional Song and Jim individually for songwriter. Michael English picked up both Fan Favorite and Male Vocalist.

I was glad to see the Williamsons receive an award for "Shout." That song has been such a big hit for them! It was also good to see 11th Hour pick up the group's first win for "Jesus Is in the House."

To me one of the best songs of the year was "Jesus Loves You." I was definitely glad that song was recognized. After All This Time has become probably my favorite Talleys' recording so I was glad to see it win as well.

I think this was Amber Nelon Thompson's second time to win Female Vocalist, so deserving! And Kelly Nelon Clark, her mom, was awarded the Susan Unthank Memorial Award.

Here is a list of all the winners -

Song of the Year: “Pray Now” – Karen Peck & New River (written by Dave Clark, Michael Farren, and Karen Peck Gooch)

Album of the Year: Pray Now – Karen Peck & New River (produced by Wayne Haun)

Pacesetter: Heritage of Gold Reunion Tour (featuring Gold City, Jay Parrack & Vocal Event, LeFevre Quartet, Steve Ladd, and Wilburn & Wilburn)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Jim Brady Trio

Male Vocalist of the Year: Michael English

Female Vocalist of the Year: Amber Nelon Thompson (The Nelons)

Male Group of the Year: Booth Brothers

Female Group of the Year: Sisters

Mixed Group of the Year: Karen Peck & New River

Songwriter of the Year (Artist): Jim Brady (Jim Brady Trio)

Songwriter of the Year (Professional): Kenna West

Producer of the Year (Artist): Ben Isaacs (The Isaacs)

Producer of the Year (Professional): Wayne Haun

Engineer of the Year: Kevin Ward

Musician of the Year: Gordon Mote

Traditional Song of the Year: (a tie) “Shout” – The Williamsons (written by Lee Black and Gina Boe) and “Steppin’ Out In Faith” – Jim Brady Trio (written by Jim Brady and Melissa Brady)

Traditional Recording of the Year: Songs In the Key of Happy – Goodman Revival (produced by Johnny Minick and Michael Sykes)

Progressive Song of the Year: “Jesus Is In the House” – 11th Hour (written by Karen Gillespie and Rachel McCutcheon)

Progressive Recording of the Year: After All This Time – The Talleys (produced by Lauren Talley and Roger Talley)

Country Song of the Year: “Jesus Loves You” – Jeff & Sheri Easter (written by Sheri Easter and Kenna West)

Country Recording of the Year: Shoulders – Wilburn & Wilburn (produced by Ben Isaacs, Jonathan Wilburn, and Jordan Wilburn)

Special Event Project of the Year: Live at Daywind Studios – Tribute (produced by Scott Godsey)

Music Video of the Year: “Waiting For You to Get Home” – The Browders (directed by Patrick Tohill)

Fan Favorite Artist of the Year: Michael English

Susan Unthank Memorial Award: Kelly Nelon Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting the site and for commenting!